Minerva Logo of the MPG

Computational Methods in Systems and Control Theory

MATLAB Codes for Computing the H-/L-Norm for Large-Scale Descriptor Systems

MATLAB implementation of various algorithms for the computation of the H-/L-norm for large-scale descriptor systems. Based on the computation of dominant poles two optimization methods were implemented to determine the norm value. Both implementations were tested with MATLAB 2012a under Linux and should work with a reasonably current version of MATLAB.

Method 1: Computation of the H-Norm via Optimization over Structured Pseudospectra

This algorithm is based on the relation between the H-norm and the structured complex stability radius of a transfer function. A nested iteration is used. In the inner iteration, the rightmost point of a structured ε-pseudospectrum is computed for a fixed ε. In the outer iteration, ε is updated via Newton steps to determine the value of ε for which the structured ε-pseudospectrum touches the imaginary axis.



Structured pseudospectra with most dominant poles (black crosses)



An inner iteration with intermediate iterates (black circles)

Author

Downloads

License and Usage

This software is published under the GNU General Public License, version 3. It is research code and there is no warranty for correctness of numerical results. This software uses the MATLAB implementation of the SAMDP algorithm (samdp.m) by Joost Rommes, which underlies own conditions. If you use this code for your own work, please cite the publication stated below.

Related Software

Reference

Method 2: Computation of the L-Norm via Optimization on Level Sets

This algorithm is an extension of the well-known Bruinsma/Steinbuch algorithm to large-scale problems. Using the dominant poles of the transfer function, shifts for a structure-preserving iterative eigensolver for even eigenvalue problems (even IRA) are computed. The obtained imaginary eigenvalues can now be used to determine level sets that contain the optimal frequency.




Plot of a transfer function with computed norm value (red circle)



Plot of the level sets for every iteration

Authors

Downloads

License and Usage

This software is published under the GNU General Public License, version 3. It is research code and there is no warranty for correctness of numerical results. This software uses the MATLAB implementations of the SAMDP algorithm (samdp.m) by Joost Rommes and the even IRA (even_ira.m) by Volker Mehrmann, Valeria Simoncini, and Christian Schröder, which underly own conditions. If you use this code for your own work, please cite the publications stated below.

References


©2018, Max Planck Society, Munich
Jens Saak, saak@mpi-magdeburg.mpg.de
18 November 2015

Minerva Logo of the MPG

Computational Methods in Systems and Control Theory

MATLAB-Codes zur Berechnung der H-/L-Norm für großskalige Deskriptorsysteme

MATLAB-Implementation verschiedener Algorithmen zur Berechung der H-/L-Norm bei großskaligen Deskriptorsystemen. Basierend auf der Berechnung dominanter Pole wurden zwei Optimierungsverfahren implementiert, um den Normwert zu bestimmen. Beide Implementationen wurden mit MATLAB 2012a unter Linux getestet und sollten mit einer hinreichend aktuellen Version von MATLAB funktionieren.

Methode 1: Berechnung der H-Norm mittels Optimierung über strukturierten Pseudospektren

Dieser Algorithmus basiert auf dem Zusammenhang der H-Norm zum strukturierten komplexen Stabilitätsradius einer Übertragungsfunktion. Es wird eine geschachtelte Iteration verwendet. In der inneren Iteration wird für ein festes ε der am weitesten rechts liegende Punkt des strukturierten ε-Pseudospektrums berechnet. In der äußeren Iteration wird ε mittels Newtonschritten angepasst, um den Wert von ε zu bestimmen, für den das strukturierte ε-Pseudospektrum die imaginäre Achse berührt.



Strukturierte Pseudospektren mit dominantesten Polen (schwarze Kreuze)



Eine innere Iteration mit Zwischeniterierten (schwarze Kreise)

Autor

Downloads

Lizenz und Verwendung

Diese Software ist unter der GNU General Public License, Version 3 veröffentlicht. Es handelt sich hierbei um Forschungscode, es wird keine Garantie für die Korrektheit numerischer Ergebnisse übernommen. Diese Software verwendet die MATLAB-Implementation des SAMDP-Algorithmus (samdp.m) von Joost Rommes, welche eigenen Bedingungen unterliegt. Falls Sie diesen Code für Ihre Arbeit verwenden, zitieren Sie bitte die unten angebene Publikation.

Verwandte Software

Referenz

Methode 2: Berechnung der L-Norm mittels Optimierung auf Niveaumengen

Dieser Algorithmus ist eine Erweiterung des bekannten Bruinsma/Steinbuch-Algorithmus auf großskalige Probleme. Mithilfe der dominanten Pole der Übertragungsfunktion werden Shifts für einen strukturhaltenden iterativen Eigenlöser für gerade Eigenwertprobleme (even IRA) berechnet. Mittels der so berechneten imaginären Eigenwerte lassen sich nun wieder Niveaumengen bestimmen, in denen sich die optimale Frequenz befindet.




Darstellung einer Übertragungsfunktion mit berechnetem Normwert (roter Kreis)



Darstellung der Niveaumengen für jede Iteration

Autoren

Downloads

Lizenz und Verwendung

Diese Software ist unter der GNU General Public License, Version 3 veröffentlicht. Es handelt sich hierbei um Forschungscode, es wird keine Garantie für die Korrektheit numerischer Ergebnisse übernommen. Diese Software verwendet die MATLAB-Implementationen des SAMDP-Algorithmus (samdp.m) von Joost Rommes und des even IRA (even_ira.m) von Volker Mehrmann, Valeria Simoncini und Christian Schröder, welche eigenen Bedingungen unterliegen. Falls Sie diesen Code für Ihre Arbeit verwenden, zitieren Sie bitte die unten angebenen Publikationen.

Referenzen


©2018, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Jens Saak, saak@mpi-magdeburg.mpg.de
18 November 2015